Ron Gorman

Not sure where to start.  My life has certainly not been what I expected but I have learned to make it as fulfilling as possible and let  the health issues not stand in my way.

 After graduating from Washington U. with a BSBA, I spent 6 yrs in the Army reserves and 25 years with Famous-Barr — serving as a buyer and eventually becoming store manager of 3 of their stores and as a divisional vice-president.  I then left to participate in the start-up a chain of 4 deep, discount drug stores.  After 10 years, we closed the stores when the economy took a deep depression and the banks were no longer interested lending to small businesses.  Shortly after that my son and I bought a franchise in 4 malls providing shoe repair and alterations.  That lasted for 5 years. For the last 16 years, I have worked as a real estate agent for Coldwell Banker Gundaker and am currently in the Ladue office.  That has allowed me to combine my retail background with my “techie” interests along with my desire to not retire.

 Personally, my wife (Sally Rothman) and I just celebrated 36 years of marriage. We have one son who is married and lives in Portland, Or. I also have 2 other sons who live in Chesterfield; one is married.  So far, only 2 grandchildren.  All of my three sons have been very successful and have been very close.

 40 years ago, I moved to Lafayette Square in the city where I get to enjoy the community similar to our experience in U. City.  Before that move, I tried living in three different areas in the county and did not enjoy not knowing my neighbors. Plus, driving downtown got old. I have been blessed to have great neighbors, a great neighborhood, and many fine restaurants.  After having a replacement knee surgery, my two older sons wanted us to move to a ranch in the county instead of walking up the 20 steps to our bedroom.  Instead, we added to the bock of our house a 500 sq.ft. master bedroom including bathroom and laundry.  The new addition was built with old brick to match our home that was built around 1860. 

 So, here’s what I intend for the balance:  keep on working 5-6 days a week, spinning 4 days a week at the J, doing some yoga, left my PT son keep my going, taking my meds, watching my heart rate on my Apple watch,  and enjoying my family.